Standard Possession Spring Tips

/, Family Law, Family Life, Jill O'Connell/Standard Possession Spring Tips

Standard Possession Spring Tips

Boy Swinging from Tree --- Image by © Royalty-Free/Corbis

Standard Possession Tips

Spring Break in North Texas means it is time to figure out summer possession for most divorced parents. For divorced parents coparenting under a Standard Possession schedule in Texas, this means that the start to the spring and summer periods of possession and holidays are near.  There are deadlines that are set in the Standard Possession for summer that are just a couple of weeks away.  Here are some tips and reminders for parents :

  1.  Spring Break: If both parents reside within 100 miles of each other, under Texas Standard Possession, Spring Break time alternates each year.  If one parent lives more than 100 miles away from the children, that parent (the noncustodial parent or possessory conservator) will have the children for every Spring Break.
  2. Summer Possession Notice: The possessory conservator parent in a Standard Possession schedule gives notice to the other parent on or before April 1st of the year about their periods of possession for the upcoming summer time with their children.
  3. Summer Possession 2nd Notice: The other parent, under the Standard Possession, then gives notice of their periods of possession that are provided in the Standard Possession for an extended period of time with the kids during the summer.  This notice has to be given by April 15th of each year to noncustodial parent.
  4. Mother’s Day: If Mom isn’t going to be with the kids because of the way that Mother’s Day falls that year, Mom is entitled to pick up the kids on that Friday before Mother’s Day at 6:00 p.m. and return them back to Dad on that Sunday, Mother’s Day.
  5. Father’s Day: If Dad isn’t going to be with the kids on the Father’s Day weekend in June, the Texas Standard Possession schedule gives Dad the same option that Mom had for Mother’s Day.  He can pick up the kids at 6:00 p.m. on the Friday before Father’s Day and return them to Mom at 6:00 p.m. on Father’s Day.

This time of year these details become important.  And, if this is your first year after a divorce you may have questions about what you need to do.  Jill O’Connell is available to discuss child possession questions and help you understand your possession schedule, whether it is Standard Possession or something unique to your family.  Call today for an appointment 940-497-5454.

Check these out:

Mom Questions

Dad Questions

Legalese

By | 2018-03-29T21:24:51+00:00 March 7th, 2014|Blog, Family Law, Family Life, Jill O'Connell|3 Comments